Landing in the Turkish capital I was filled with instant dread and excitement all at once.

One of my dearest friends was getting married and I did not want to miss her big day, but the fact we flew over a mere three weeks after a political coup did not put my mind at rest.

As soon as you stepped out of the Airport you could see everyone was eager to pledge their allegiance to Erdogan but most of all their allegiance to being a democratic country.

Turkish flags draped down the side of every building and hung from every balcony to show their utmost support.

But what people fail to remember and do not wish to see is how truly beautiful the city is.

It is one of the most ancient cities on our planet and was ranked in the top 25 places to visit around the world.

Not everyone is walking the streets at demonstrations or rallies they are continuing with their day to day lives, opening their businesses, drinking there Turkish teas and celebrating marriages.

Do not get me wrong, I was one of those people who instantly thought the city would be crazy, but I was instantly proved wrong.

It’s culture and history swept my eyes before I knew it and the five calls a day to attend the mosque sounded in my ears.

I find it a true shame that a remarkable beautiful city and country is attracting less visitors due to the nature of the coup but at the same time understand why so many fear travelling there.

While controversy still surrounds as to who launched the coup, no one can take away how friendly the Turks are.

They will greet you, cook food for you, embrace you as one of their own while you learn their own dance and all about their homemade delights.

I would recommend visiting the city as you can truly embrace within their culture and also visit a water park while you are at it too!

 

 

Ankara

Leave a Reply

