I experienced a little bit of history and of course ate some fish – Morecambe

As I was set to travel twice in one week up to the north of England, I decided to get the train from London Euston to Morecambe.

The train took just over 3 hours and I felt calm and relaxed ahead of watching Leyton Orient win 2-1.

I met a lovely O’s fan called Jeff who kindly offered me a lift to the Globe Arena and it was there I heard something truly fascinating.

Morecambe’s tide goes out for miles from the coastline that it stretches to almost one mile and a half out, it goes out so quickly that sometimes you cannot even see it!

But it also comes in at a rate of knots too that it seems to be one of the fastest tides in the UK.

I had enough time after the match interviews to walk through the town and back to the train station and you guessed it! Grabbed myself another portion of a sea side’s town first and chips.

What was quite sad is, I bet Morecambe was a great seaside town to visit in its hayday.

A lot of it seemed to be run down but that is surely no fault of their own. Many families prefer to go abroad and it seems out of them all Blackpool has been the only one to miss the cut to visits to the seaside for a holiday.

But now to the fish and chips! WOW! For £5.80 for fish and chips and a can of Vimto I was delivered a HUGE portion.

Now, while I cannot quite compare it to Grimsby as I sat in a restaurant there rather than got a takeaway, the fish was so fresh and it was from Atkinson’s just off the main seafront around a 15 minute walk from the station.

The weather was not great, but as I waited for the train back to Lancaster the food kept me warm and was absolutely delicious – it is highly recommended.

So it is Au Revoir to Morecambe and onto the next seaside visit in October – Southend on a Tuesday night!

This weekend is a jaunt to Carlisle but I am stretching the barriers out ever so slightly and heading to the Lake District for a lovely dinner – I’ll keep you updated!

Shona

 

 

Leave a Reply

